I’m a little bit nervous

Hi, my name is Dawn Walton and I’m due to start a Masters in Psychological Research Methods in a couple of weeks. I’m a Mental Problem Solver for a day job, and I’m planning on working towards a Phd and then hopefully, one day, I would like to be known as a leading Neuroscientist. But every journey starts with a single step – and for me the first step is a Masters.

I was last at Uni in Manchester (UMIST) where I did a degree in Computing. I graduated in 1994 and as I type that, I’m feeling really old! I’ve done many things since I graduated, but mainly worked as a business consultant in call centres. I travelled all over the world. I work in Dublin for 18 months, in Paris for 9 months, and spent nearly 2 years back and forth to the Netherlands. I never stopped being a geek though. Honestly, technology can be way more expensive as an addiction than hard drugs! Every time a new laptop came out, I’d be at the airport checking it out. At one point I was getting a new laptop every 6 months and had a queue of friends waiting to receive my old ones!

Things are a bit more settled now though. I have a 9 year old daughter (feeling old again) and I have had my own business helping people get their heads sorted for over 4 years. I have lived near Dundee for the last 17 years.

So it’s a long time since I was a student. And being a postgraduate student is a little different too. I barely remember what it was like being a student the first time round, but I do remember that I loved it and I really can’t wait to immerse myself in student life.

I love playing squash, and have used the ISE squash courts before (but of course had to pay for them).

Maybe you can join me on my first day at Uni on the 4th of September where I try and work out where everything is and what I need to do. It would be good not to be doing that alone.

Anyway, I just wanted to say so I’ll keep it short and sweet for now.

Written by:

Hi, my name is Dawn Walton and I am a 44 year old therapist that lives in the Dundee area. I'm originally from Anglesey in North Wales, but I've lived here for 17 years. My first degree was in Computing at UMIST in Manchester. Now I'm studying a Masters in Psychological Research Methods with the aim of going on to do a Phd.

I love Starbucks and Pokemon Go. So they are likely to feature in my posts quite often!

  • Show Comments and Reply Form

    Leave a Reply

    XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>